Invitation to Jefferson Literary Society Final Celebration

CHARLOTTESVILLE, February 7, 2005 – Late last night in an effort of the Jefferson Literary and Debating Society spearheaded by Mr. Joshua Hess, a member of the Public Service Committee, an invitation dating back to 1877 was acquired via an online auction. The Society, continuing with its goal of perserving history, found much support for the purchase of this item that will certainly be cherished for generations to come. The 4 3/4 x 7 1/2″ invitation provided admission to a final celebration on Tuesday, June 26th 1877 at 8:30 P.M. The invitation, engraved by A. Hoen and Company (Lithographers, Baltimore, MD), lists the following members:

President, B. D. Whiteley, Maryland
Vice President, J. A. Southall, Virginia
Medalist, A. G. Stuart, Virginia
Orator, C. A. Culberson, Texas
Chairman, W. G. Robertson, Virginia

Student Committeee Members, R. W. Covington, Kentucky, G. F. Wilson, Oregon, G. D. Fawsett, MD, J. F. T. Anderson, VA, R. W. Walmsley, Louisiana, Joseph H. Kent, VA, J. T. Dickinson, TX, B. S. Johnson, VA, Hawes McCreery, KY, Frank Hampton, South Carolina, C. H. Williams, Tennessee, A. W. Patterson, VA

Below are photos of the newly acquired item:

%d bloggers like this: